CBH Questions

Hi everyone! I am wondering how much of the CBH is computer based? What type of classes do the students take Freshman year before they begin their project? Are they mostly comp science/programing? Also, is a 32 4.15 gpa too low to be accepted into this program? For a finance major is this worth applying and potentially being apart of or is it possible to find research within the business school?

1. CBH is a programming based research program.
  2. The students take their normal classes plus one CBH class each semester freshman year. My son, a Chemical Engineering major, is taking OChem, Calc3, ChemE Calculations, and CBH.
  3. I believe your stats are in the average range for this years incoming class.
  4. Yes and yes, although I have no direct knowledge of the School of Business. I am sure more will chime in who have direct SoB information.

Good luck, no matter which path you choose.

Roll Tide!!

Tune into the CBH Live presentations , see my thread featuring the link. Tomorrow is the last day.

Link to other thread: http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/university-alabama/1837238-computer-based-honors-program-presentations-live.html#latest

Definitely try to watch!

They learn to program in Fortran and I think C++. Yes, you can probably find research opportunities outside of CBH, but CBH is an amazing program for students who want to pursue research.

@southernbound18 I just checked the schedule and there are presentationa today in Operations Management, Accounting, and Economics. I know they’re not Finance specifically, but they could give you an idea of the business research CBH students get involved in. The majority of people in the program are in Engineering disciplines, but we always have ~5 business school students a class.