chance a transfer applicant!

<p>hey all</p>

<p>i'm applying to Madison (next week apparently) for transfer admission. I was hoping I could get an idea of what to expect while I play the waiting game. I'm currently a freshman at SUNY Geneseo and applying for sophomore standing.</p>

<p>High school:
4.4 weighted gpa, 3.65 unweighted 5 AP classes, the rest honors classes
1900 SAT (550 cr, 650 m, 700 wrtg)
4 years ultimate frisbee team, senior year captain, won national championship junior year
foreign language tutor for elementary kids
taught ultimate frisbee to kids during my lunch for a couple years. yeah, not much else</p>

<p>Took a gap year after high school:
worked for a year at a restaurant
used some of the money I made to travel to around costa rica for a month, also helped build a house down there</p>

<p>college:
3.86 gpa, 13 credits in 1st semester (math221, geography 123, psych 100, sociology100)
this semester im taking 17 credits
continuing ultimate frisbee here
animal shelter volunteer
yoga club</p>

<p>My main concern is whether my grades will be enough to get me in; I don't feel that strongly about my essay and I didn't send in any recommendations.</p>

<p>Your college GPA is excellent, but I wonder why you didn’t bother to write an excellent essay and find professors to recommend you.</p>

<p>Get all of your paperwork in by the deadline.</p>

<p>greennblue- while by no means is it an excuse, i only decided to apply a couple weeks ago and felt i wouldn’t be giving my professors ample time to write recommendations. if the admissions office makes sat scores optional, how much weight can they place on something such as recommendations, which are traditionally considered with even less importance. (Not to mention the perpetual issue that students rarely develop relationships with their professors after just one semester). my essays will be better than some and worse than others; they’re simply not my best writing. </p>