Chance me for Harvard EA (this should be fun!)

Hello~

Dropping the stats~

Unweighted 4.00 GPA

KESDA participant, Ratliff scholar, Quad state participant (Band), Honors art (regional) “a” honor roll, regional championship in dramatic interpretation, early graduate scholar, qualification for KHSSL state tournament, Opportunity scholarship reciever.

I take no AP classes or honors classes, my dad forbid me from doing anything but extracurriculars :frowning:
I do Educators rising, speech and debate team, concert band, marching band, art club (I taught at a local guild) I dance, sing opera with a tutor, and participate in photography

My family is a low income family(federal poverty line) , I am african american, at the top 10% of my school and have skills in computer science, leadership experience from art, problem solving abilities , communication skills from taking foreign langauges (as my major is east asia) and I am studying Chinese and Japanese

OH boy that was a lot to write!

lol made an error. be honest btw! I write really good essays too I forgot to mention

oh and I am waived from act/sat currently

I think you have a shot. Although…

…the lack of honors and AP’s might hurt you—typically, colleges try to understand context within the academic transcript; however, I’m not sure “parents didn’t want me to take it” would be a fully effective and understandable situation.

But more importantly, why Harvard? I could name another 20-30 colleges that could give you a similar quality of academics: Yale, Johns Jopkins, Williams, Hamilton, USC, etc.

“Why should you be at Harvard” is a question that the AO’s will be considering when they read your application. That’s not to say you shouldn’t be at Harvard; it’s just something to think about.

Edit: Define “waived.” Do you not have to pay to take it? Or are you applying test-optional?

5 Likes

If your school offers these classes and you didn’t take them, it is difficult to assess your chances.