Chance Me / Match Me - Virginia aspiring Engineer (3.93/1570) [3.40 unweighted HS GPA, 3.1 college GPA, needs full ride]

Hi everyone, thanks for reading this post. It must be a huge slog this time of year, and I really appreciate it. I hereby commit to posting an after-action report around February once results are in!

Demographics

• US domestic
  • Virginia resident
  • Competitive HS (#2 in the state)
  • Generic white male with immigrant, college-grad parents
  • State-competitive athlete in solo sport, D3 at the very best

Intended Major(s)

• Electrical engineering
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Anything else possibly contributing to career in energy generation and distribution

GPA, Rank, and Test Scores

• Unweighted HS GPA: 3.40 (I didn’t handle the COVID era especially well)
  • Weighted HS GPA: 3.93 including my school’s bonuses for honors and AP
  • College GPA: 3.1 (I was a full-time college student for one term at 13, got 3 As and a D, long story)
  • Class Rank: My school doesn’t rank, but I’m about top 20%
  • SAT Scores: 1570, 790v 780q
  • 96 AFQT on the ASVAB

Coursework
AP 5s in Biology, Micro, Macro, World History; AP 4 in French; AP 3 in Comp Sci A. Planning to do AP Physics, Calc BC, Government, Lang senior year. Every possible honors class where I couldn’t do an AP. I’ve also gotten As in AoPS Pre-Calc and Calc. With AP French, I’m maxed out on foreign languages, and I also fluently speak my oddball heritage language.

Awards
Davidson Young Scholar, 4 years honor roll, 4 years Mu Alpha Theta, LOE to West Point. Notably, choked hard on PSAT and did not get National Merit Semi-Finalist or better, only Commendation.

Extracurriculars

• Paid software development job – working in a small capacity for a startup that got an 8-figure Series A
  • Intensely involved in my religious community as assistant to choir director and in religious education programs