Chances to apply to a UC? CC student

<p>Would i be able to apply to a UC?</p>

<p>Im currently a community college student, but I used to attend Cal Poly Pomona. I was academically disqualified 7 years ago and took a couple years off from school before I went back to school. For the past 3 1/2 years, I’ve been attending a community college for computer engineering/comp. sci. and.</p>

<p>My GPA with my Cal Poly Pomona’s horrible grades are 3.02 after this summer, but without Pomona’s is about 3.3-3.4. I have taken a majority of the classes i need to take except for 3 more classes, which i will be taking this fall. </p>

<p>Do I have a chance to apply to a UC? If so, which ones can I apply to?</p>

<p>If you were dismissed from Cal Poly Pomona, then you need to go back to the college to work out your eligibility for readmission because the UCs will ask about your dismissal on the UC application.</p>

<p>You can “repeat” courses you failed at Cal Poly Pomona with CCC courses (to replace the grade for GPA calculation), you just have to notate them in Additional Comments.</p>

<p>Some UCs have maximum unit caps that you cannot exceed. Others remove such caps once you enroll at a CCC. For the policy for each UC campus, see <a href=“http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/admissions/counselors/files/ETS10_TransferQA_final.pdf[/url]”>http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/admissions/counselors/files/ETS10_TransferQA_final.pdf&lt;/a&gt;, page 14.</p>

<p>Thanks for the info MsSun. I have talked to Cal Poly Pomona about my eligibility with them and their response was my only option is to retake 4 courses at their extended university to become eligible with them once again. However, I couldn’t afford this option since it would cost $222 a unit (each is 4 units) and comes out to be about $6k.</p>