Changing subjects and only taking 1 language course

Hi my fellow IB classmates :slight_smile:

I am a Y11 student currently taking my first year of IB (it’s been 2 months already as of this post) at an international school in Hong Kong. However, there’s a special case for me. Originally, I am leaving for Canada or the United States to continue IB or IB/AP due to the limited subject choices offered here in HK. Due to certain events, I broke my forearm and in the process also severely damaged my ulnar nerves, preventing me to leave as constant medication is required. On the up side, my parents allow me to leave next year to continue IB in Canada or the states but there’s some concerns raised from me at this point. Can you only take 1 language&literature subject? Or do you have to do at least 2 from group one?

Here are my current choices in HK

HL: English Lang&Lit, Geography, Physics

SL: Chinese/Cantonese Lang&Lit, Business Management, Math

Here is the subject list I wish to alter once I’m there:

HL: English Lang&Lit, Geography, Physics

SL: Music SL, Business Management, Math

Is it possible?

Furthermore, what will happen to my Music IA scores and what can I do with the predicted grades I got for Chinese Lang&Lit?

Any help/response will do :slight_smile:

First of all, you can take one course from group 1 only if you are also taking a course from group 2 (foreign language acquisition), either as Language AB initio or Language B. Either way, you have to take two language courses. You can do that with two Language A courses or with one A and one B course.

You can ask for an exception from the IBO, but I highly doubt that you could get a positive responce from them. Normally you won’t be eligible for the IB diplome. Your future school’s or the current one’s IB Coordinator could do those kind of inquiries.