Cheap Transportation Options

<p>So Miami is my #1 choice but unfortunatly like many other hopefulls cost is going to dictate whether or not I attend. So one thing I have to take into consideration is transportation back home during breaks or whenever. I live in michigan so a roundtrip plane ticket is pricey and flying multiple times per year would really add up. I could take the amtrak which I think is quite a bit cheaper but it's like a 24 hour ride. So does anyone know if any airlines run special programs or discounted rates for students? How have others gone about this?</p>

<p>Thankyou</p>

<p>hey man i’m a freshman at miami, and incidentally i’m also from michigan. unfortunately, there’s no student discounts as far as i know. personally, i’m dealing with that by only taking flights home for christmas and summer. even if it does cost more than most schools, i would definitely recommend that you come to miami… my experience has been great so far</p>

<p>Haha cool, I love Michigan but I can’t wait to leave at the same time. Yea I probably would only fly home for christmas and summer too. Man I decided to apply to Miami just for the heck of it but the more I research it the more I like everything about it, Miami has quickly become my top choice.</p>

<p>studentuniverse.com is a great site for discounted student airfare.</p>

<p>Although we are from NY and flights are relatively inexpensive my son is going into his senior year and has yet to come home for Thanksgiving. He always goes to a friends house in FL and back to school. He spends most of the weekend doing schoolwork/papers as the following week is the last of the semester.</p>

<p>We fly out of Ft Lauderdale as many of the kids do- Check Southwest for prices as they tend to be lower). There is a shuttle to and from school.</p>

<p>By the way, I went to school in MI (MSU) and never came home for Thanksgiving either.</p>