Choice Between A-Levels and the IB

Hey there!
I’m a ninth grade student who aspires to go to a prestigious university, either in the UK, Switzerland, or the US, specifically MIT, in a field heavily centered around the sciences, such as aerospace engineering. Would 5 A levels in maths, further maths, and the three sciences prepare me for a future outside of the UK? My other option would be to pursue maths, physics and chemistry HL, in a school which is arguably worse in terms of results. I need to decide by tomorrow.
Thank you!

I currently take a courseload similar to the IB Diploma (3 HLs and 4 SLs), and believe me, it could be a pain for students who want to specialize.

I am very focused on the social sciences. As such, my GPA and overall IB mark if I took the IB Diploma has suffered greatly. I’ll be getting 7s in my HLs and getting 5s in some of my SLs. I really wish I had the opportunity to take A-Levels.

If you wish to specialize in STEM fields, your time is probably better spent not reading Gatsby or Macbeth but doing calculus or physics. You’ll enjoy it more, do better and as a result get into a better university.

That being said though, 5 A-Levels does seem…excessive. If Oxbridge requires an AAA or AA*A, I imagine MIT would want the same and for all five of your subjects (you won’t be given a conditional offer like the UK but you’ll definitely be expected to be predicted around that range).

I’m currently doing A Levels, and I absolutely would not recommend doing 5 A Levels unless you are certain you can handle it. Even Oxbridge only require 3 A Levels, and most students in the UK wouldn’t consider doing more than 4, as most universities will only look at your best 3 grades anyway.
Sorry I can’t help with IB, and while I don’t know much about engineering, the friends I have who are interested in that path are doing Maths, Further Maths, Chemistry and Physics A Level