Choice between CWRU and UMD

I am now studying in UMD, and this semester I got the offer from CWRU (Case Western Reserve University). I am in a dilemma because I don’t know how to choose. Continue staying in UMD or transfer to Case. I want to transfer to a better school next semester or 2022 spring. Money isn’t the thing to be considered.
Can someone help me please? Thanks :blush:

Who says Case is better? Better at what?

As a side note, your success is far more about what you do, than it is about the school you attend.

5 Likes

Agreed. If you are going by rank and you shouldn’t, they are similar.

Are you unhappy at Maryland ? If so, why ? Is it something with work you can adjust to ?

Case is smaller, more compact, a bit more tech focused although UMD has notable programs.

If you are transferring due to rank, which it sounds like you are, you are making an error. Build upon what you’ve done well and fix what isn’t well. Going in as a transfer is not an easy thing.

1 Like

It might help if you define what a “better school” is for you. Do you mean better in a specific major of interest to you? Or different enrollment size, different city, frats or no frats, weather, various rankings of colleges?

If it is predominantly ranking driving your desire to transfer, Forbes Best Colleges list has UMD at 63 and CWRU at 100, so it appears you are already at the higher ranked university of the two. Fiske’s Guide To Colleges (referenced in this thread) recognizes UMDs academic quality at 4.5 and CWRU at 4.0, which indicates you are already at the better academic option between the two. The list at Washington Monthly has CWRU at 132 and UMD at 50.