Choosing a MacBook for college

I am debating what computer to get for my graduation from my family. I plan on an apple product since I’m used to them. I’m studying accounting (anything business related if I change majors) and am interested in computer science (possible minor). I was looking at a MacBook Pro since it had a Touch Bar and the air didn’t. Any advice or other options that would be better?

I think either the MacBook Air or Pro would work in your situation. Both have the new M1 chip and are very powerful. There isn’t much difference in terms of performance between the two. The touch bar is rumored to be going away in the next Pro, so if you really like it, I would snag it now. (I hardly use it).

That said, a new MB Pro will be coming out soon so some sites say to hold off:

IMO, if price is any consideration and you need it now, the M1 MacBook Air would be a solid choice.

2 Likes

I got a Macbook Pro after graduation, it broke recently and I got the Macbook Air so I have experience with both in college. I know that the Pro seems to have more features but I’m able to do everything I need with the Air that I was able to do with the Pro. I’m a biology major and for the price, I think the Air is a better deal and is just as good. If you were perhaps a film major or in photography, then the Pro would probably be the better option because it’s known for its editing quality. They are both great though! And even though the air doesn’t have the touch bar, it does still have touch ID! Hope I could help
in any way!

1 Like