Choosing between UC Berkeley and UC San Diego?

So I’m an undergrad Biological Sciences major and I was wondering which school might be better for me to go to. I just want to know the pros and the cons of each, and about the overall atmosphere of the school (especially Berkeley, since I didn’t get to visit the campus); like what kinds of personalities would fit in best at each.

This decision really is tough for me. ^-^"

Visit UCB before you make a decision since you will be spending 4 years of your life at the campus.

As a Pre-Med, both schools will be very competitive. You will be competing with top students from all areas of the country so no Big fish in a small pond anymore. You will need to be very proactive in getting Research/Internships that are Medically-related to apply to Medical school. You be faced with “weeder” classes to cut the weak students from the rest of the group.

Are there any cost differences between the schools (include transportation costs since locations are at opposite ends of California)?

What did you like about UCSD? Are these your only choices or just your top?

@Gumbymom These are my top choices, and I won’t be able to visit UCB before May 1st because I live abroad and my parents do not want to make the long trip to the US unless it’s for a long break like Summer. :frowning:

And from what I know right now, it’s a little cheaper to go to Berkeley and I’ll be living on campus no matter where I go.

I liked UCSD’s overall feel, the programs available, the labs, and the proximity of hospitals, I also liked how the campus looked when I visited. Another plus is that my uncle works at the UCSD labs, and he may be able to connect me with some internships. My only concern is the social life, because I’ve heard so many people talking about how it’s “socially dead”. I don’t believe it entirely, but there must be some truth to it if it has become a stereotype.