Choosing Cal Poly over UCSB for Electrical Engineering

My son’s top two choices are electrical engineering at Cal Poly or UCSB. He was accepted to Cal Poly, and I expect he’ll make it into UCSB and maybe UCLA? Even so, he has committed to Cal Poly and we are all very happy.

UCSB is a great school. I graduated from there myself as a mechanical engineer. And UCSB definitely has some things over Cal Poly. To make our final decision I compiled information from USNews, College Factual, Niche, and Naviance. We have visited Cal Poly three times now, and we go to UCSB all the time because we live nearby. I also took a detailed look at the electrical engineering curriculum for each school.

Data is data, but judging the data is mostly subjective. Other people looking at this same information will make the opposite choice. I’m just sharing this because I it took me time to gather it all -so why not.

ECE PROGRAM
CP is larger, 134 grads to 64 grads.
CP classes look more interesting/practical, and more labs.
CP hall posters are related to undergrads, not research.
CP Engineering buildings are filled with working students, not UCSB.

ATMOSPHERE

Engineering most popular major at CP (27%), not on the list at UCSB.
CP students are relaxed and friendly, majority seem approachable.
- not as much for UCSB, but that’s just my opinion.
UCSB is ranked as a very liberal college, offering more liberal majors.

COST

CP=$26k, UCSB=$35k (could save by living at home).

HOUSING
UCSB housing looks better, CP is probably fine.
CP doesn’t like freshman cars while insisting freshman live on campus.
CP dining halls not as good -maybe, probably fine.
CP makes no effort to match up roommates beyond choice of community.

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

CP is 1:20m away, UCSB is 5m away.
Isla Vista is awesome!
Much more crime and drinking at UCSB.
Slightly less girls than boys at CP.
UCSB campus is prettier, Niche: UCSB = A, CP = B-.

RANKINGS & EARNINGS