Circumstances at home changed, not reflected in FAFSA - how do we address this? Or can we?

Son has quite a few acceptances to very good schools, most of which are turning out to be financial reaches for us. EFC of 41k. PA resident, high stats, math major. We have three top contenders (West Chester U, Pitt, and Binghamton U - he got a top OOS scholarship) right now that are our lowest cost options, and I don’t expect that to change unless he applies to more schools - the acceptances we’re waiting on include RPI, Stevens, UMass Amherst, Case Western.
Our financial and family circumstances have evolved pretty dramatically in the last year. We are a single-income family – I am a full-time student (will have my nursing degree in 2024), our younger child (15) developed a chronic health condition in 2022, recently got an autism diagnosis and has high needs, out-of-pocket healthcare costs, and a changeable situation (he may require a private alternative school to finish high school – more tuition!). And my elderly father just moved in with us last month and it’s become apparent that his care needs are going to be challenging for us to meet on our own. He has no financial resources beyond social security. We are working to figure out how to maximize the resources available to us for his care. This all feels like an avalanche.
We got our first financial aid offer (from RIT) and as predicted, we do not qualify for much. Son got a very nice Presidential Scholarship as merit, but besides the $5500 in loans he can get, he got work study worth $3400, putting COA at 45-50k. We expect similar financial aid offers from the other private schools, and I’m guessing nothing from the publics.
This is our first rodeo. My husband doesn’t think our circumstances will hold much weight with financial aid, but I’m willing to do whatever is necessary if there’s a chance we can bring our costs down some more. I’m open to advice from anyone’s who has read this far :slight_smile: