Civil Rights Institute--Tourism topic

<p>I’m seeing all these posts about families visiting UA for either college tours or football games and I am truly green with envy. My S is a junior and although I have a couple of degrees from UA, he has not yet visited–hopefully in the spring.</p>

<p>He was in B’ham a year ago for debate camp and we had a chance to see the Civil Rights Institute. I highly recommend it for all ages. My brother and I who grew up in B’ham in the 50’s and 60’s (yep, I’m an older mom!) toured it with my S. It spoke eloquently to both generations. It is extremely well done and I say that as someone who spent a lot of years in the NYC/Philly area with those outstanding museums. </p>

<p>Given the historic role, albeit not always a positive one, Alabama and UA played in civil rights history, I thought I would put in a pitch to make the institute a part of your tour.</p>

<p>Having lived in Alabama and graduated from both Alabama and Auburn, I can honestly say the state has made a lot of progress but still has a long way to go. Comments like Sharon Cahoon only highlight the issue.</p>

<p>[Sports</a> Sound Off: Birmingham News readers’ opinions | al.com](<a href=“http://www.al.com/sports/index.ssf/2010/09/sports_sound_off_birmingham_ne_9.html]Sports”>Sports Sound Off: Birmingham News readers' opinions - al.com)</p>

<p>^^</p>

<p>Every state has a long way to go…every state has racists and idiots. </p>

<p>Creating a screen name just to post that link here is a bit ridiculous.</p>

<p>What??? - she meant “color commentator”(which is an actual thing) right? Not “colored commentator”. Sexist yeah, but not sure about racist.</p>