Clam fart! Oh my God... What did I do?!

<p>I just realized that I listed “clam fart” as an extracurricular activity on my application to Yale. dies I was filling it out while one of my friends was over my house, and she was intently watching as I filled it out (which was annoying me). So, as a shocker, I typed in “clam fart” and she started laughing hysterically. BUT I FORGOT TO DELETE IT!!! What’s worse is that I wrote that I had been doing it for 17 years!!! I don’t even know what a clam fart is!!! It’s already submitted (obviously), but I didn’t re-read the printed version of my application closely until today. Should I call the office of admissions??</p>

1 Like

<p>funniest post I've ever read on CC.</p>

<p>That's really funny.</p>

<p>Wow, I would try to get in touch with them personally -- phone, don't email -- and explain to them the circumstances of what happened.</p>

<p>I think the most serious issue here is the perceived lying that you have been involved in clam fart for 17 years. That kind of lying gets even those granted admission rescinded. Less important, but still not good for you, is the fact that you left clam fart activities on your application simply because you didn't proofread carefully enough.</p>

<p>Good luck. I hope you've learned something from this.</p>

1 Like

<p>Learned something? No, I didn't learn anything. I was joking around with my friend, and I made a simple mistake by missing it when I proofread. Do you want me to get rid of my personality? You don't have to be rude.</p>

4 Likes

<p>If I were reviewing your application, I would admit you just for the clamfart typo..
Even adcoms need a good laugh at a stressful time of year.</p>

4 Likes

<p>I believe that they will understand it was a typo and should have been "calm frat" and you must of course be joking because there is no such thing.</p>

1 Like