Class of 2024 Regular Decision Thread

It is that time of year again!

lol I submitted my application three weeks ago and I am SO NERVOUS!! I really really want to get into UMICH its such a great school!

Hi everyone! I am a current sophomore at UMICH. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask!

@mbeste Hello!

I am a high school senior attending a rigorous high school in Newton, Massachusetts. I have double legacy, and most of my family has attended the University of Michigan. As such, it has always been my dream to attend UMich and it is my top choice by far.

I was just wondering what your experience was like with the admissions process? I know most applicants get deferred due to the volume of applications UMich gets, so I was hoping for some tips on boosting my chances after being deferred (assuming I do actually get deferred). Specifically, I would like advice regarding the letter of continued interest, and what UMich might be looking for in it.

Additionally, what is the situation surrounding the waitlist at Michigan? I know many people at my school who are applying to UMich as a backup, meaning that most of them will most likely not enroll should they get accepted. I was wondering if a situation such as this one boosts my chances, if I get on the waitlist, of being acceptedlater on?

Thank you!

I suppose I’ll make my way over here after being deferred. Michigan is one of my top schools so I’m gonna try again and hope I find out some good news soon!

@dpetway Awesome that you’ve posted over here. I was contemplating setting up a new “Deferred Thread” like last year, but this RD thread works fine since everyone deferred is now in the RD pool.

I did track stats/posts here during the RD waves last year. I’ll repost.

I hope this helps.

1 Like

Hello everyone.
I was deferred at CoE
I had a 33 ACT, 1520 SAT
3.92 unweighted GPA, 4.5 weighted GPA