Class of 28 Undergrad/Class of 26 Grad: a thread to capture the journey of applications, pre screens, tours and auditions

So starting our thread for our DC24 as per the wonderfully helpful thread of this and previous years

To start us off - DD24 is currently reviewing options for music degree and joint degree programmes in usa and uk. She has finally selected her first study finally - clarinet- but also plays cello and is a chorister. I have no musical background so it’s already been a journey and the next year looks very busy with some short deadlines.

7 Likes

Thank you for starting! S24 is a flutist and plans on concentrating on LACs and small universities with strong music programs and music scholarships. He is attending Kinhaven this summer so we will see if that changes the plan!

5 Likes

Thanks for starting the thread! My DS24 plays horn and surprised us a few months ago with the revelation that he’s leaning toward a dual degree in horn performance and…something (maybe sociology? maybe English? definitely a humanities-type kid). We had always assumed he’d keep playing in college but not major in music. His brother just finished his first year at Vanderbilt/Blair as a clarinet performance major, so I guess hearing him talk about it made it irresistible. So right now his preference is somewhere where he can do a dual degree, and he’s looking at Blair (possibly ED), Lawrence, St. Olaf (I’m not sure how easy a dual degree is there, but he’s also open to a double major with a BA in music), maybe Oberlin? Or maybe Oberlin with the musical studies major–likely plan is to apply to a combo of places with dual degrees and LACs with strong music programs (that list is a work in progress, but has places like Macalester (his other older brother just graduated from there), College of Wooster, Emory, Brandeis, Haverford, Grinnell…kind of all over the place).

6 Likes

I don’t mean to be impolite but I believe this thread is for music majors.

2 Likes