Class Registration

<p>So, how do students sign for classes at registration? Do I do it by myself or is there an adviser sitting with me?
I signed up for the second session. Does that mean I am going to be able to get the CS courses I want to take? Intro in problem solving in CS as well as the data structure courses?</p>

<p>If you mean Summer Session II you should be able to sign up through HokieSpa now.</p>

<p>Unfortunately, there are no guarantees you will get the times let alone the courses you want. </p>

<p>@rjldm25‌ But, don’t I have to sign up during orientation? I mean I am an incoming freshman.</p>

<p>So how does registration work during orientation? Do I have to sit with an adviser and select classes OR do it myself after my adviser prepares a rough schedule? Also, do I only register for fall classes during orientation?</p>

<p>@bboop42‌ Will I know for sure on the day of orientation at least about the class availability?</p>

<p>Yes. Normally, the Engineering advisor will have already signed you up for required courses like Engr Education, Chem, etc. (depending on AP credits received). It is very difficult to change those times. You get what you get unless a spot opens up. They will even caution you not to try and switch given if by chance you drop the class to add an open one and someone beats you to it, you will not be force added back to the original one. So be careful if you try to do this. Then, at orientation, you will pick from the available CLE classes or other classes you may want/need to “fill in” the rest of your schedule. Keep in mind that the earlier orientations do get first dibs on classes so being later in the process does work to a disadvantage (unless they have changed this).</p>