Classes/professors to avoid as a pre-med

<p>Hi everyone - can any of the current pre-med students out there point out some good (and bad) professors and classes that they've had? Anyone you recommend or dislike? I'm picking my classes this coming week and I wanted a heads up on what I should be expecting. </p>

<p>Are there even any pre-meds transfers that have already gone to see the transfer advisor about their fall classes?!?! </p>

<p>Any feedback would be great! </p>

<p>interested…bump</p>

<p>ABC, are you going into the premed track? I just picked my classes last week and they don’t seem to be too terrible even after I researched the professors.</p>

<p>Yeah, I’m doing the premed track. What classes do you want to take next semester? Are you going to use AP credit?</p>

<p>I already picked my classes. I’m actually a transfer student and I didn’t have too many AP credits. All I had was English lit, English comp, Spanish, pysch and art history. Nothing really went towards my premed prereqs.</p>

<p>heeeey guys. I am a prospective student looking to apply at UMiami. how is their premed path? Do they have opportunities such as research? Is it cut throat? Any information is appreciated.</p>

<p>Use RateMyProfessors website to see which teachers are better than others at UM.</p>

<p>A lot of premeds will say to avoid Colonna for Orgo. It’s true that she can be a tough grader and a GPA killer, but you will know Orgo like the back of your hand and not need to “learn” anything for the MCAT, just light review. She also expects you to know the exceptions (not usually found on the MCAT). Points to consider.</p>

<p>Additionally, if taking a biochemistry course, I recommend against Huijing (How-ying). He’s very old and teaching less and less, so it’s likely you can avoid him entirely, but few students have good experiences with him.</p>

<p>hey canesgirl, I sent you a personal message with a few questions.</p>