COA a new shift?

<p>I am an incoming freshman at UA. And recently all this commotion has been stirring up because the cost of UA is now 42,000. I though id be paying 32-33000 and will now have to see how much i will be paying. Although i am extremely upset at such an increase, and still am not 100% sure that ill be at UA next year because of the increase, i wonder…</p>

<p>Is this jump in Cost of attendance a play to try and get into the same financial discussions as other big schools. Is UA’s programs beginning an uphill trend?</p>

<p>Schools like UVA, UNC, Penn state, U of Maryland, UGA…etc all cost a reasonably expensive amount to go to. Do you think UA is quickly trying to get in that discussion academically and this sort of COA increase goes along with that? </p>

<p>I think that sort of COA increase definitely makes students that do not have good enough scores to get scholarships shy away from applying to UA.</p>

<p>Do you think its just a new big number and increase because of large amounts of oos? Or do you think that UA is trying to make there way upward? </p>

<p>Just trying to get opinions. Side note: Also my theory has a major flaw! Im going into the business school at UA and they were ranked by blooms-burg business week at 75th best in 2011. But in 2012 they were ranked worse at 80th. Just saying, i know many don’t care for rankings.</p>

<p>I can’t figure how the COA got to that number. I don’t think it’s a real number. The actual increase in OOS tuition is $730, IIRC. The annual increase for the 4 person suites is $700. I haven’t seen numbers for the meal plans for next year, but how much can they increase? Personal expenses and books are variable and aren’t going to be much more at Alabama than at other schools. I wouldn’t worry about the stated COA - I’d figure out my own COA based on actual tuition, actual room and board, and your best estimate of the personal expenses/books for you.</p>

<p>beth’s mom, I think that is great advice!</p>