Cognitive Science

Would love some help from more knowledgable Bama parents. S17 was pretty set on Bama, Presidential Scholarship and Engineering. He just returned from the SITE program and now is unsure if engineering is really right for him. He is still considering computer science and metallurgical engineering but now thinks he may enjoy Cognitive Science more. Bama does not offer a cognitive science major unfortunately. We are wondering if he can create a cognitive science major by combining computer science, english, biology and psychology and if so will this put him at a disadvantage in grad school admissions. If this would be possible does anyone know who we would discuss this with. Suddenly, need to start anew investigating colleges with merit aid that have good programs in both since he is so unsure. Thanks, in advance for all insight.

I’m not an expert, by any means, but this is what I learned from out own research a few years back, when DS thought he might want to pursue a cognitive science major. First, although some schools offer a cognitive science major, many do not, so grad schools don’t expect incoming students to have majored in cognitive science as undergrads. Majoring in a related field, and doing well, should be sufficient.

Additionally, the New College offers UA students the opportunity to put together their own majors, so if your son is looking at combining courses from multiple fields in order to create his own cognitive science major, he can do that - and his diploma will indicate that he got his degree in “Cognitive Science,” if that’s what he wants to call it.