College decision advice

Hi! I am a biomedical engineering major who recently applied for undergraduate admission for the fall 2023 quarter. I need some help with my decisions and choices:

1. USC Viterbi Pathways Plan - I got offered a place in this program where it’s basically a guarantee (according to previous people online) , with the help of USC counselors, where I can transfer in sophomore year straight to the engineering school. I am leaning towards this because I have a great CC and I could definitely maintain the GPA that will get me into admission for USC 2024.

2. Penn State BME

3. Rutgers BME

I am a California resident, so the costs are around the same for Penn State and USC (30 k difference in total). I would like it if you guys could share your input and thoughts, especially about the USC program if anyone has experience.

Thanks! (Still waiting on a couple school but mostly reaches)

To me #1 is a no go. I mean, why take a pathway if you are looking for a four year experience? And when you get there, everyone knows everyone - and you know no one. So to me, these aren’t real options (for the student) but they’re money makers for the school.

Both Penn State and Rutgers are solid. Are you wanting to go that far? The schools are different with Penn State sprawling and harder to get to - but really nice, have you been?

I’d chose the one you like best of those two.

Good luck.

1 Like

Rutgers BME is a well respected program, and worth considering if cost is not an issue. Are you planning to attend Admitted Students Day? Have you toured the campus?

Hi! Thank you for the advice :slight_smile: I am leaning towards USC because it’s been my dream school and I could see myself being the happiest there. With my interest in USC, would it be worth taking this pathway for?

I haven’t toured the campus, but I am thinking about it!

In my opinion no. It would not.

But I will tell you there is no dream school.