Common sense tips to help raise your SAT/ACT score

I’m a test prep tutor. One aspect of what I do is watching students during practice drills. I cover the verbal sections of the test, but much of this can apply to math on the SAT, or math and science on the ACT.

• Elimination is important. Get rid of two wrong answers. Think about why a remaining answer is wrong, rather than why it’s right. If you can’t think of why an answer is wrong, you’ve probably got the right answer.

• On both tests in all sections, questions generally progress from easy to medium to hard. An easy point is worth as much as a hard point. Don’t waste time on hard questions at the expense of easy ones. Don’t get hung up on questions that you are struggling with.

• For Reading, does a student spend too much time reading a passage? That’s a waste of time, because he has to go back and read a lot of the passage again anyway when he’s answering questions. Set a steady reading pace, using your pencil to force your eyes along, and aim to read a passage in under three minutes, especially on the ACT.

• In English, does the student actually plug the answer back in to ensure that it works? I’m amazed at how many don’t do this. This can also apply to Math.

• Also in English, the student will get points by trying the shortest answer first to see if it works. It will NOT always be correct, but it’s a good place to start. The English section favors concise answers.

• For SAT math, remember how to use your pencil to do basic things like multiply and divide. I’m surprised by how many kids have forgotten these easy skills.

• In ACT math, it’s usually the last ten questions that are the hardest. A hard point is worth as much as an easy point. Maximize the easy points and don’t panic about getting to the final questions that you might get wrong anyway.

• For ACT Science, it’s often best to go right to the questions, which are primarily based on the data points provided. Skim the passage as needed.