Community college route? Ask a UCI transfer student anything!

<p>Hey guys! I’m a transfer student about to start UCI as an Bizecon major this Fall 2014, and I wanted to reach out to all you high school folks who are taking the community college route hoping to successfully transfer into a UC in 2 years! I would love to hear what you guys have to say and am open to answering any questions. </p>

<p>I started this post because back when I graduated high school in 2012, I felt pretty lost and confused after getting rejected to nearly ALL the UCs I’ve applied to and feeling like I hit rock bottom because I was forced to take the dreaded community college route. Many people seem to talk smack about community college and look down on CC students, but it has honestly been one of the wisest decisions I’ve ever made. Even through CC, I was able to manage a vibrant social life in and out of school and maintain my time well. Recently, I’ve just gotten accepted to UCSD, UCSB, CSUF, and UCI (where I’ll be attending). I have a lot more options now than I did back in high school!</p>

<p>Back then, I wish I had some guidance before starting CC, but I really didn’t have anyone to look to for advice, which is why I wanna be here to help you guys. If you guys have any questions on getting classes, adjusting, I’m here to give any of those who want pointers/advice/tips on successfully transferring into a UC after 2 years, or if you just wanna talk and ask some questions! Don’t be shy, ask away :)</p>

<p>Hey beeds1028,</p>

<p>I think this is a really good idea and that it will be really helpful for students like me. I have a couple questions that I would like to ask.
So I am a recent high school graduate who is looking forward to pursue the community college then transfer to a UC route. </p>

<ol>
<li><p>So I know that all you need is the GE courses, but are they different for each major? I did some research and some majors require extra courses/units than others.</p></li>