Computer Recommendations?

<p>Can anyone recommend a computer for Computer Engineering? I understand that VT's computer requirements is tablets for Engineering but is this mandatory? What happens if someone walks in with a regular laptop?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>It is mandatory. There are certain in-class projects that you won't be able to do without the tablet. Having said that, I do understand that many don't feel the tablet is really all that necessary for engineering. My s says he hasn't seen anyone in Engineering who doesn't have one though. We spent the extra to not only get it through the university bookstore, but also to get the service plan there. They handle everything in case of a problem - we are OOS, and I wasn't about to deal with having to bring it home to get it serviced and shipping back and forth. Plus, the bookstore will give you a loaner if you need it.</p>

<p>Im not an engineer but my roommate is. He has some sort of Toshiba tablet and says its a piece of junk. But take that with a grain of salt.</p>

<p>My son has the Fujitsu tablet that was offered through the bookstore 2 years ago. He uses it all the time, but also saved up his money over the summer to build a desktop computer, so now he uses both.</p>

<p>This is just me, but I would suggest a MAC. You can run windows and MAC on the new Leaopard OS, and you can even run them dual, as well as drag and drop between. If you have not used a MAC before they are easy to use. I have had mine for going on three years, and I can not switch back. Windows is garbage, and I had never used a MAC until 3 years ago. I have never had any issue with ym MAC, and recently upgraded the HD, as well as the memory. Mine will last probably another 3 years with no problem. Quite frankly my MAC does not crash. I can not sing the priases of MAC enough, and the entire set up makes logical sense.</p>