Computer science/physics schools- where to apply?

Love this forum, so crowdsourcing to make sure I have a good list.
Looking for suggestions for a CS/physics school for the kid described below! He’s currently a high school junior.

The kid:
Strong student w good grades, 1540 SAT.
Self taught CS w lots of solo projects and a couple of internships/big projects.
Outdoorsy, likes hiking and camping.
Extrovert, funny, likes parties/lots of friends.

Ideal school in his words:
Small classes, know professors
Collaborative not competitive, group projects
Warm climate if possible
Near hiking/stuff to do (within an hour)
Not so much prescribed curriculum-wants freedom to choose classes. Some writing and liberal arts welcome, but not too much prescribed core.

What fits the bill?
Thanks all.

Hello @momoftheyear, you may want to post this thread under the “What Are My Chances and Matches?” category and follow the suggestions mentioned here:

Good luck!

UCSB College of Creative studies may be worth a look if he wants to get involved in research projects. They have a program in CS and Physics. Would have to pick one to major in, but plenty of seminars and opportunities in both.

home state?

Washington

What’s your target out of pocket $$ amount per year?

For the purposes of making this list, budget isn’t a consideration.

1 Like

I just met with a closet company to design my pantry and said the same thing because my range is between $500 and $5,000. Both amounts are equally easy to pay for. There is a big difference between $100K and $320K and both can be equally unaffordable for someone looking to pay less. Do you need to chase merit or are you able to write a check for over a quarter million dollars? That aspect should be a consideration, IMO.

2 Likes

https://www.wiche.edu/tuition-savings/wue/wue-savings-finder/