Computer Science

<p>Is computer science considered a strong department at University of Miami? Also, is it true that there are only two full-time professors (faculty members) in the program?</p>

<p>I’m a freshman and CS is one of my two majors. I don’t know how the department is viewed comparatively to other universities, but I feel confident in the program as a current student. </p>

<p>Not sure about the claim that there are only two full-time professors. I know there are way more than two professors overall, but as to whether they are full-time or not, I don’t know.</p>

<p>I’m unaware of any source that would indicate if a department from any school is considered strong relative to others. I would say UM’s CS dept. is a smaller but personal program. You can see from the alumni page that many graduates went to top companies or schools for graduate study; it won’t hold you back if that’s what you’re worried about.</p>

<p>There are more than two full-time professors, and you can see this from the faculty page on the website. Anyone with the title ‘professor,’ ‘associate professor,’ or ‘assistant professor’ is working full-time for that department. The distinction between these titles is essentially rank and responsibilities. Secondary and adjunct faculty are professors from other departments or instructors who may teach or have collaborations with the department.</p>

<p>@SeekingUni … On the basis of your shrewd judgement, how competitive is the program [at University of Miami]? Did you have prior programming experience (either in the form of academic or recreational activities)?</p>