Considering transferring from WFU

Hi, all. I am a freshman at Wake, and this is my second semester. There are many things I like about Wake. I love the campus and the school spirit. However I’m just not happy here. The classes aren’t very engaging or challenging, and I just don’t think the social scene is for me. I’m seriously considering transferring, but I’m kind of lost on where to start. Does anyone have any recommendations on places to apply? I have a 3.8 gpa, and I think I’m interested in going to a north eastern school.

Based on your desire for an engaging
classroom experience (see link) and preference for a northeastern location, you might be well suited to schools such as Williams, Hamilton and Bowdoin. Of this group, Hamilton is generally the most receptive to transfer applicants.

1 Like

What schools were on your list when you were applying as a first-year student? Have your priorities shifted? What insights have you gained since last year about yourself and what you want from a college?

It will be important for you to convince the schools you apply to as a transfer that you are drawn to them, rather than feeling pushed from Wake.

So what programs are you seeking? What are your priorities for a campus and academic community? What can a new school give you that you cannot get where you are?

Engaging classes and a different social scene are a start, but every school thinks its academic program is compelling. The social aspect is trickier to describe as a driving interest, though there are schools that, say, don’t have Greek life, or an avid D1 sports fandom. You don’t need to draw that contrast, just focus on what you do want.

2 Likes

Freshman year can be like that.

2 Likes

For general research, this site includes recent transfer acceptance rates:

To be thorough, you may want to check Common Data Sets for the rates for a few years so that you will not be misled by one-year anomalies.

1 Like