Considering transferring to Binghamton but unsure

Hello,

I am currently a sophomore at SUNY-ESF, and have been unhappy on and off since I got here in the fall of 2017. Recently I have been considering transferring to Binghamton University, I applied a month ago and have yet to hear back but I assume I will get in, my grades are pretty good. However I am just unsure whether or not I would be making the right decision by transferring. My main problems with ESF are mainly social rather than academic, I think the academics are adequate although I am sure they would be slightly superior at Binghamton. ESF is a really small school and I find it hard to fit in with the people here. There is also a lack of a community feeling on campus and a lack of events that would make me feel like I am part of a community. I have switched my major since I got here hoping that would help, but really it has not. I just don’t feel motivated to do my best and wonder if a change of campus environment would help fix that. I know it won’t solve all my problems.

My concerns with transferring are that I don’t know if I would be able to make friends. I am rather introverted but consider myself a friendly person. I just worry that since most people will have friend groups that are already set, I would not be able to find friends. I also fear that I would have missed out on what I consider the two most important years socially for college, since I did not have the traditional college experience at ESF.

Basically I’m just wondering if anyone has any advice on whether or not it seems like I have a valid reason to transfer, and if they have any tips on how to make the process a little easier. If anyone had experience with transferring to binghamton specifically that would be extremely useful.

Thank you.

@bm1999 A lot of factors to weigh in. Cost? Assuming you aren’t going to be losing merit money and are probably in-state?