Continue at UC Davis with Regents/UHP or transfer to UCLA?

Hi! So last year, I was accepted in both UC Davis and UCLA. I loved UCLA so much. The location was perfect, my family is moving down there in one year, and UCLA had my neuroscience major. However, UC Davis offered substantial scholarships, Regents with an integrated honors program that caters to individual research and small classes that are not offered to other students. UCLA offered me nothing.

So, despite not really liking UC Davis that much, I chose to go, mainly for my family’s financial issues. I still regret it so much. I am still in my first year, and I have tried to open myself up as much I could at the school. I got an internship I’m passionate in, a research position with faculty (I got it myself, not through UHP), a job, and tried going to as many events in my community as possible. However, the social life here is so dreadful. When they say Davis is a farm, it really is true. There is nothing here. I am surrounded by a lot of white and Asian people, and it’s hard to share experiences. I have made a solid friendship with my roommate and RA, but it’s been hard to reach out to others. My roommate is in the same rut, and I understand it’s only first year, but my prediction of how the social life would be going to UC Davis came true.

I have also faced a LOT of administrative issues at UC Davis regarding my disability accommodations. They have tried to push back and take away my accommodations at every turn. I’ve had to bring one several official doctor notes, psychiatric notes, and my mother even had to come in with my psychiatrist to talk frankly to them. It’s been humiliating and exploitative.