Convincing the Parents

<p>Hi fellow Bama enthusiasts! Here’s the deal; I am extremely passionate about the University of Alabama but I am an out of state student. I was accepted to the University of Michigan and my parents really want me to go there because of in state tuition and U of M is ranked as a top public university. When I toured U of M I just didn’t connect and I never got the feeling like “wow! this is where I belong!” The only thing I liked about U of M was the chubby squirrels and the “prestige” that goes along with it being ranked extremely high for public universities. I was able to convince my mom to tour Bama with me over spring break last month and to say I was astounded would be an understatement! The stunning campus with its riveting architecture, the intriguing location and warm sunny weather, the relaxed southern atmosphere, the exceptionally accommodating and amiable staff members, the ubiquitous top-notch campus facilities, and the frequent individual contact/outreach are just a few reasons why I absolutely love it there! I could go on forever but for the sake of brevity I shall refrain from doing so. Anyhow, I was recently informed that I will not be receiving any scholarship money from the University due to the extreme volume of highly qualified applicants. (I was utterly distraught when I heard this) </p>

<p>As the May 1st college decision deadline swiftly approaches, I need to have the big college talk with my parents. I believe I need to present a solid argument as to why they should spend a lot more in tuition for me to attend a university that is not academically up to par with U of M. Any help/input on that subject would be greatly appreciated! Also, if anyone has any suggestions about ways I can help reduce or chip away at the out of state difference I would love to hear ideas about that as well. I am not against working like a dog while I’m down there. </p>