Culture shock from Massachusetts to Alabama

<p>Hello, I am a perspective student from massachusetts who has applied to Alabama, Ole Miss, Clemson, Florida State, West Virginia and UMass. I come from a rather liberal white colar massachusetts home. I am just wondering what kind of culture shock/ problems I may face comming to the university of Alabama from all the way up north in Massachusetts. I am a very easy going and slightly sarcastic person. I see myself as optimistic and compassionate and I love the idea of southern hospitality. Thank you for your replies!</p>

<p>There are many kids from the north. If you want, you could join the Class of 2016 group to get in touch with some of them. PM me for the link.</p>

<p>Welcome.</p>

<p>I really doubt that you’re going to experience much/any culture shock unless you’re shocked by being around friendly, helpful people.</p>

<p>In truth (apologies to my precious NE friends), I have noticed that students experience more culture shock going to the NE from the West, Midwest, and South…because the NE can seem less welcoming and friendly at times (but not our dear NE families that have come to Bama. :slight_smile: )</p>

<p>Colleges are more liberal than the general population as a whole. Bama is more “middle of the road,” but some think it’s a bit right of center. The profs seem to be a mix…the STEM profs are often more “middle,” while the others are usually more “lefty.” </p>

<p>Bama was Obama-land during the last presidential election. I don’t think it will be as much next year simply because of a decrease in popularity and support…and I think that will be the case on most college campuses next year. I doubt we’ll see the same amount of support in '12.</p>