Current Hokie Willing to Answer Questions About Admissions

Hey Everyone,
I am currently a sophomore transfer student in General Engineering. I would be more than happy to answer any questions regarding admission this fall/looking at essays, etc, especially as this upcoming year will likely see a lower acceptance rate, similar to when I applied as a high school senior.

Question about applying to engineering as a high school senior coming in as a freshman.

1. Is a candidate completely rejected from university if not accepted into engineering, or are they put in the general university pool for acceptance?
  2. If I were to apply to the general university and admitted, could I then begin to take engineering classes as a freshman and apply to the engineering school as a enrolled student. In other words, is there any way to get into the engineering program other than directly as a high school senior?
    Hope that makes sense. Thanks for your feedback.

@AnibalOC

1. If you do not get into your first choice major, you will not be admitted to Tech. The change was made a year or two again to stop the whole “undecided, but I just want to get into engineering later” thing.