Current HS Freshman looking for advice to get into T20 school (polisci/humanities)

Hey!

I’m currently a freshman in high school and I want to get into a T20 school. My dream would be to go to Columbia or Yale. I plan on majoring in either political science or journalism. I don’t want to come across as pretentious, that I couldn’t go to a less competitive school, however I want to aim high so that even if I don’t get into an Ivy school, I’ll still be attending a great university!
The school year is almost done, and I think I’ve done pretty well academically, however I could have worked harder on my extracurriculars.

Here are the specifics from this year:
GPA:
4.0 unweighted, 5.1 weighted
Classes
Intro to Government Administration, Honors English 1, Intro to Journalism, Honors Art, Dance, Honors Geometry, Honors Biology, AP Human Geography (AP Spanish Language outside of school)
Rank
44/589 (top 7%)
Awards
Best position paper at a Model UN competition, highest score at a state art competition (VASE)
Extracurriculars
National Art Honors Society, Manager of Model UN club at my school, preparing for German proficiency test

Plans for next year:
Classes
Political science, AP World History, AP Seminar, Honors Art 2, AP European History, Honors Algebra 2, Honors Chemistry, Honors English 2
(AP Spanish Literature & German 2 outside of school)
Extracurriculars
This is where I’m really confused. I don’t know what extracurriculars I should participate in.
My parents have suggested that I take part in national writing and art competitions, but I’m not sure if that is enough. I want to do something relating to my local government but idk what.

Okay thats all! Thank you so much if you read all that!
Overall, I’m looking for suggestions on what more I could be doing outside of school, and some feedback on how I’m doing so far.

1 Like