Deciding between UT Austin and Baylor University

I’m an admitted OOS student to both UT and Baylor. I got accepted to Baylor’s Science Research Fellows program, and I’m waiting on a response for UT’s Freshman Research Initiative program. I’m planning on following the premed track while doing biochem in UT or the SRF major at Baylor.

UT will be a lot more expensive for the first two years(since I got no aid), but my family may move and qualify for in-state for the last two years. I prefer UT’s student life and Austin’s resources, but the SRF program sounds promising. Which of the two colleges seems to be more of a viable option in the long run?

It takes a full year to establish parental residency as it stands, your parents would have to move while you are pretty much a freshman to get 2 yrs instate, there is always the possibility that instate tuition rules change. Texas is going to be hit very hard in the financial downturn. Do not count any chickens.
So you have no aid from UT, how much is Baylor? Where are you instate? As premed, it is always worth looking at free undergrad, while knowing that the vast majority of kids thinking about premed never get to med school.

2 Likes

Hi, I was also accepted to Baylor Science Research Fellows (+ premed) and to UT’s Health Science Scholars (auto admitted to FRI). I liked the sincere attention that Baylor was paying the SRF students, so that you could have your pick of labs, mentors, and therefore be great applicants for medical school. I think Baylor has a good premed program that sends students to good medical schools. UT is very large so it can be competitive to get what you want. I liked their honors programs (HSS and Plan2) so I was also considering them before I got into a competitive program at Baylor yesterday. I have been looking into these schools for literally months so I can help you with pros and cons if you’d like.

2 Likes