Decision, Comp Sci: Berkeley vs. UCSB

I’m an incoming Freshman interested in EECS/Computer Engineering, and, slightly less so, straight Computer Science. My top choices that I was admitted to were: UCSD for Computer Engineering at the School of Engineering; Cal Poly for Computer Engineering at the College of Engineering; and UCSB for Computer Science in the College of Engineering. I narrowed that list down and SIR’d to UCSB, with the intention of eventually changing my major to Computer Engineering.

Then, by way of appeal, I was admitted to Berkeley to the College of L&S. I’m now deciding between 1) attending Berkeley with the intention of attempting a transfer to CoE&EECS (near impossible?) before embracing the CS major (which I’d have to have a 3.3 GPA to declare as – not too intimidating), and 2) attending UCSB, and switching majors within the CoE from Computer Science to Computer Engineering (quite easy). Those are my choices, and I must make my decision by the end of tomorrow night… here are some of the things I’m thinking about.

The financials for the two are the same.

I live half of an hour’s drive from Berkeley and five hours of a drive from UCSB. Might be nice to stay local, but it might also be nice to get to see and live in a new area away from home. Not concerned either way.

I’d like to participate in a summer program for either school, and I’m already enrolled in 10 units at UCSB’s Freshman Summer Start Program and have already found a truly wonderful roommate for the program & rest of the year. Comparatively, at Berkeley, there is a “Freshman Summer Edge” program which I actually don’t know a whole lot about, except that it lasts 6-8 weeks and I’d be taking two courses that would naturally take a semester to complete. It may already be full.

I have AP Lang (5), AP Chem, AP Psych credit, and I took the AP Calc BC/AP Comp Sci A tests this year. As far as I know, my credits would transfer much better at UCSB.