Deep Springs - International Variant?

Hello students, parents and educators, I am starting this thread to generate discussions regarding the possibility of founding an international variant of Deep Springs College in a location outside North America.

I did my first degree at Carleton College, Minnesota, for four years; had I known about DSC at that time, I would have wanted, like nothing else, to spend the first two years there. Having been involved in higher education in Asia and Oceania for many years, I think the Deep Springs (DS) concept will find a receptive audience in many parts of the world, and the educational goals of its founder, Lucien L. Nunn, could certainly be even more richly realized with the infusion of a truly international element. In fact, I have been introducing the DS concept to small but relevant audiences in a couple of countries in Asia and Oceania, and the response I got was always…electric!

So I would like to hear from you your opinion on this idea: Instead of bringing international students and scholars to DS, why not bring the DS concept to the rest of the world? If you are a student, a parent, an educator, or simply a person interested in the DS concept of doing liberal arts education, please chip in!

Joseph L.
Japan

As someone from NA I can’t really comment on it’s international impact or potential, but I certainly think it’s a good idea! I’d love to see it happen

YES! I have been looking for a DSC variant in the EU or Africa.

There are several farms through WWOOF France & U.S who offer courses on specific forms of agriculture, but these courses also provide an environment for community discussions on society, politics, media, and literature.