Deferred Nursing TCU 2024

Hi all, is it common for EA Nursing Students to be deferred? I am a competitive applicant; what percentage of EA Nursing students are deferred?
EA
ACT: 32 ss (34’s in Reading, English, Science and 25 Math)
SAT: 1330
GPA: 4.29/4.5
Varsity Basketball, Track, pianist, guitarist, St. Louis Youth Group leader, NHS secretary, etc etc. If you need more info on my ec’s/accomplishments in order to provide me with helpful info, or for me to help you in any way, please reach out and I can give more information!

I know they accept ~13% of applicants, but some I’ve heard of that were accepted are less competitive than I am. I am a strong writer and my essay and Nursing supplements are powerful

Please share if you have similar stats and if you were also deferred!

1 Like

@Doggolover20 My daughter was also deferred. You have higher stats than her (3.93 and 29 ACT). TCU said that “evidence” to prepare for Nursing was something they look at. My daughter is a CNA, certified phlebotomist, has healthcare level CPR (BLS provider) and has over 200 volunteer hours in hospitals and nursing home. Has over 30 clinical hours with her CNA. Taken Anatomy / Physiology and is taking a DE Medical Terminology class next semester. She has a lot of evidence but they also may be looking at other factors as well. I agree that there are lower scores that were accepted and it is frustrating to understand.

I think its very, very common to be deferred to TCU for Nursing. We spoke to Admissions after we toured last summer and they told us that. A 13% acceptance rate is less than Wash U, Notre Dame, UNC Chapel Hill, etc. If you conceptualize it that way, it is an extremely competitive “college”.

My daughter has also been accepted to multiple other schools including UTulsa as well. (I think I saw that on the reg TCU thread that it was on your list). She is considering Baylor in RD as well.

Not sure if this helps but good luck!!