Dirt cheap hotels?

<p>I am a student of very limited means, and I need to visit Alabama in late January for a departmental scholarship interview. Unfortunately, I have no friends or family in Tuscaloosa, so I cannot couch surf with someone. </p>

<p>What are the cheapest hotels within 30 minutes of UA that are still relatively safe?</p>

<p>Thanks so much!</p>

<p>Use Priceline to place a bid. I’ve got some really good rates near the Tuscaloosa Walmart (I20 & McFaland) at places that many people wouldn’t choose to stay at - the LaQuinta and the Days Inn are both available via Priceline. There’s also the Master’s Inn there near that intersection which I’ve never stayed at, but is a very affordable location (but you can probably get just as good a price on Priceline, for a slightly better hotel/motel). The Ramada and the Microtel (Tuscaloosa location) are also nearby, but they are slightly better properties and will cost slightly more. I’ve also stayed at America’s Best Value Inn, which is not very far from that intersection, which is pretty affordable, but I don’t believe is available on Priceline. These definitely aren’t luxury properties, but are located in a retail area with lots of traffic, so are not unsafe (although at two of them I have had people approach me for handouts as I was loading/unloading my car, I just said, “no, sorry, I don’t have any money to give you” and they went on their way). You should be able to get a good price (around $30/night) unless there is a big event in Tuscaloosa that weekend.</p>

<p>If none of those are affordable, then perhaps you can arrange to stay overnight in a dorm or find a student with an apartment where you could stay.</p>

<p>The Greyston in Vance (where the Mercedes plant is located) is usually $68/night and includes a decent breakfast. We’ve stayed there a couple of times now and it is nice. You might find cheaper with some searches using expedia or kayak.</p>