Do I need to take 3 years of math in high school?

I am a high school junior who is in Math 3. I’m considering dropping the class because I’ve always been bad at math and I learned practically nothing in my sophomore year math class due to online school and bad teachers. I’m already struggling with the homework I’ve received despite it being review from sophomore year. Is it worth it to drop the class? I’m planning to go to community college for my first two years of college and then transfer to a university (preferably one in the UK.) Do I have to take 3 years of math to get into universities? Or can I drop the class and still get into a good or decent university because I will be taking math in college? I’m not sure if universities would count community college math classes as a third year of math. Plus, I most likely will not be majoring in anything that involves math because I dislike it and I know I’m not good at it. I’m really not sure what to do and I’m running out of time to remove the class from my schedule.

What is the math requirement for graduation at your school? What is the highest level math that your school offers.

Depending on where you are applying, not having a minimum of 3 years of math will definitely hurt you.

3 Likes

Many colleges have a graduation requirement that requires a math or math-based course that requires intermediate algebra / algebra 2 / integrated math 3 as a prerequisite.

Meaning, if you do not take it in high school, you are more likely to need to take it in college.

Don’t drop it. I would think it would be a requirement for high school graduation. You need 4 high school credits of math where we are in North Carolina. Just looked it up and only 12 states let you graduate with only 2 credits of math. Most states require 3 or 4 math classes for graduation and most colleges want to see 4.