Doctor of Modern Languages at Middlebury: Questions

Hello everyone,

I am interested in learning more about the Doctor of Modern Languages Program at Middlebury College. I am a recent high school graduate and therefore probably shouldn’t yet be thinking about graduate programs, but it is always good to consider. Throughout my high school career the programs at Middlebury were always highly spoken about by my teachers/mentors. Throughout my high school career, I took Spanish, French, Latin, and Chinese at different levels and also did self-study in additional languages. I know I want to get a Ph.D someday, but it will all start this Fall with a double B.A. in Spanish and Arabic with a minor in TESOL at Western Kentucky University.

Because I do greatly consider getting my Ph.D someday, I had several questions about the DML program at Middlebury and was wondering if alumni had the responses.

• I would be interested in doing Spanish as the L1 and Arabic as the L2. Would this program certify me to teach the L1 and L2 as a professor at a university/college?
  • I have an interest in second language acquisition and as well as language teaching methods. Do students take required courses in these areas?
  • How is this program similar or different to other graduate programs?
  • Are stipends available for this program? What research experience and teaching experience does one get throughout the program?
  • What would be an ideal M.A. for this program since the DML focuses on two languages and M.A. programs usually focus on one? Should I do one in the L1 or could I do a related field like an M.A. in teaching world language?

Best! :slight_smile: