does Geneseo has a big name outside NY?

<p>basically, i'm looking for internship and job opportunities outside NY....</p>

<p>What is your intended major? Geneseo is well known in the world of academia but has more of a regional reputation. Great school though! Job opportunities will be based on what you do in college including your grades, internships, volunteer work, student leadership activities etc. Geneseo has a pretty active Alumni association across the country which helps…where do you plan to land?</p>

<p>I’m thinking of that problem too…
How’s SUNY Geneseo’s name outside US or in the American west/south?
(I’m an international student)
It seems it’s not as well-known as Binghamton or Stony brook, even thought Geneseo’s academics is on-par with Bing’s</p>

<p>I don’t think most people outside of the US know what SUNYs even are haha, or maybe I have a wrong perception on that. Geneseo’s a great school that’s gaining in popularity, but when I started my college search I had never heard of it while Stony & Bing were very familiar to me.</p>

<p>Not sure if I’m being helpful or not…</p>

<p>I live in California, near San Francisco and I have never heard of that school. Maybe others have, I haven’t heard of it until I clicked on this thread though.</p>

<p>Good Luck. :)</p>

<p>well, i applied as undecided major, but leaning on either international relations or economics</p>

<p>since i’m from Arizona(I moved there 3 years ago from Italy), i plan to go back to Arizona or some nearby states(such as California) to work after i graduate
is it not a good idea to study in Geneseo if i don’t plan to work in NY or surrounding areas?</p>

<p>also, i plan to go to grad school in schools in the south in the future, such as Rice, Vanderbilt and U of Miami, does Geneseo has a reputable name for those schools?</p>

<p>“dmurph” recently posted this in another thread - I thought it might be useful since it addresses both Economics and IR. </p>