Does skipping math courses negatively affect college decisions?

I am an incoming sophomore, class of 2026. Last year in freshman year, I took Algebra 2/Trig Honors as my math class. However I already mastered all of the content up to calculus- I took the AP Calc BC exam this year and predict a score of 5. Additionally, next year I plan on taking more math classes in a nearby community college, such as multivariable calculus which will be placed on a separate transcript I am an AIME qualifier and plan on qualifying for olympiad next year. Will colleges will find it weird/problematic if they only see Algebra 2 on my high school transcript? Should I take pre-calculus H next year although I already know all the content?

I went through Algebra 2 with 100s in nearly all my tests without any studying and worked on my own stuff every class.

You can provide the community college transcript. But are you doing dual enrollment? If so the community college transcript should be part of what your high school sends to schools. Be careful about taking college classes separately from dual enrollment since you want to retain freshman status if you want financial aid and don’t want to be a transfer applicant. When do you get your AP score?

Is there any value for you in taking math at your high school? Have you done geometry w/proofs?

2 Likes

You will have to provide a transcript of all classes you take including those taken at CC.

And if you havent taken geometry yet you should.

I would not take pre-calc now if you have successfully completed the Calc BC AP exam. Did you take a calculus class? Self-studying for an exam is not the same as completing a class.

3 Likes
  1. Talk to your school counselor and make sure you will have satisfied your state high school graduation requirements.

2. If your courses are dual enrollment courses, they are usually considered part of your high school course load…but ASK….don’t assume.