Does St. Olaf have a vibrant LGBTQ community?

I’m a student that’s drawn to St. Olaf for the incredible music program and the international opportunities, and I recently got accepted with a scholarship that would set me up to graduate without debt. It’s seeming like a fantastic option, but the Lutheran tag does make me a little nervous. It’s hard to find agreeing statements out there about the religious and/or conservative atmosphere at the school, which is understandable. In particular I’d like to know what it’s really like being a gay guy there. Is there homophobia? Even if it’s subliminal?

My current perspective is that of a senior at a small and crazy liberal high school in a crazy liberal city. I’m also an atheist. I know St. Olaf isn’t going to be that. But still, in anyone’s experience, do you think I’ll find myself in an uncomfortable or snubbed situation? Thanks in advance for the insight.

1 Like

St. Olaf would be a change from your current high school. It has an LGBTQ scene, but not what most people would call a “vibrant” one. I do personally know a couple of top students who attended St.Olaf for exactly your reasons (the incredible music, the study abroad opportunities and the excellent merit aid) even though they had been accepted to T20 institutions. But a vibrant LGBT scene was not on their list of must-haves.

2 Likes

https://www.reddit.com/r/stolaf/comments/j7pvrl/a_few_brief_questions_from_a_prospective_student/

3 Likes

One of the very talented students from my kids school goes there. He’s openly gay and has no problems.

I don’t work for St. Olaf but I do work for a Jesuit university. I’m not even baptized. Not all churches are against gays.