Dorm selection UW-Madison

<p>Hi. I'm an international student planning on doing chemical engineering. I got into UW-madison and was looking through the various residency halls. I'm pretty confused on which hall to have as a first choice.
I'm looking for something near the engineering hall. I'm not really a nerd and I'm not really into parties. I do want to meet new people and have a reasonable social life(like dinners/movies is fine and occasional parties). I was looking into Phillips Hall but I am open towards other halls as well. I also want to be the near lake where it's quiet but not too quiet.
Are there any halls which best cater to my preferences?
I also wouldn't mind private housing, provided it has a reasonable fee.</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Do not worry about your major or classes when choosing your dorm. As an entering freshman you will have most of your classes in many different buildings. Being near any of the engineering buildings is not necessary. Also- you can study in any of the many libraries on campus, many in the Lakeshore area use the Steenbock Ag library since it is closest to those dorms. Lakeshore is my favorite area (lived there eons ago). All UW Res Halls dorms will have the same upkeep and amenities- exceptions such as air conditioning (for a higher price) are noted in the info online. No matter which dorm you live in there will be welcoming activities and you will meet people at the food service areas as well as in your classes and any organizations you join. </p>