Double degree $ double major

<p>Hi! I am an admitted international student to wiscon and planned to study international relations and business. Is it a double major or double degree? Can anybody explain these two terms for me? Also, if I have a double major/degree, does that mean I need to pay double tuition fees in wison? Thanks a lot!</p>

<p>Don’t know about your int’l relations & business, but I do know you don’t have to pay double tuition. HOWEVER…unless you are extremely careful with picking classes and don’t have to drop any before the drop date, most likely to achieve the two degrees you’ll be at UW-Madison longer than 8 semesters. So plan on it costing more. Double majors are somewhat easier to do within 4 years, still not easy though.</p>

<p>D2 is a soph, moving towards a double degree within the College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, and so far so good, but she is taking classes over the summer for the next two years. Even so, there is a possibility that she’ll have to pick up some classes over a ninth semester.</p>

<p>jnm- please explain how your D is getting a double degree instead of a double major.</p>

<p>Dream… the tuition is per credit for part time students (up to 11 credits). Full time students pay the same tuition and fees for 12-18 credits, there is an extra charge for those who take more credits in a semester. You are unlikely going to want more than the heavy load of 18 credits. Doing two or more majors could take longer than 4 years/8 semesters (even if you choose to spend time and money taking summer school classes). With most majors needing 120 credits you would need to average 15 credits per semester to graduate in 4 years, usually manageable for a single major (remember- a semester of 14 credits plus one of 16 credits is a 15 per semester average).</p>