Early Decision, engineering, and Scholarship

<p>Hey guys this is my first time using this site. Anyways, I just visited Virginia Tech on wednesday and decided that I wanted to go there for sure. I currently live in Minnesota and go to a very good high school. I have a 3.76 GPA (UW), and our school does not weight, however I have taken AP Calc AB and BC, AP comparative politics, AP government, AP US history, and will be taking 3 more AP classes. I also have a 29 on the ACT with a 33 in math and 26 in english. First question, am I a competitive applicant for engineering? Second question, will Early Decision hinder my chances of receiving scholarships? Any help would be helpful as I cant decide between ED and RD</p>

<p>I have heard that if you are planning on getting any form of financial aid besides loans, it is best to not apply early decision. Applying and getting accepted ED means that you are committing to Tech, and that you’ll be expected to attend regardless of financial aid.</p>

<p>You sound competitive. Hard to tell without a weighted GPA but the AP classes should bring it up.</p>

<p>I applied ED and got a good number of scholarships. I had a lot of need though. I don’t get the feeling that VT bases your aid on whether you’re ED or not, although if you NEED a lot of aid to attend ED might be a bad decision since you’re locked in and what if you don’t get it.</p>

<p>You can break ED in an emergency if you can’t make tuition but you’d be behind the game on applying to other places if you have to break it.</p>

<p>Thank you for the information, I have a weighted gpa(I just calculated it) of about 4.3 on a 4.5 scale. My parents are convinced that doing ED will eliminate all merit scholarships that maybe used to entice me to come if I do RD. Our family doesn’t qualify for financial need so should I just wait until RD, even though I am sure Vtech is where I want to go?</p>