Engineering computer req

<p>Hey, I'm a new student goin into engineering and was wondering what people thought about the tablet PC requirement. Personally I'd rather have a regular laptop because they're more powerful, i also would rather have a bigger screen. Anyone have an opinion on what's best? I was thinkin about the toshiba portege or fujitsu t4210. The website also said something about a new 14'' dual core toshiba, might wait to see what that is. Hope i get some answers. Bye!</p>

<p>just as a side-note, <a href="http://forum.tabletpcreviewspot.com/showthread.php?t=2047%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://forum.tabletpcreviewspot.com/showthread.php?t=2047&lt;/a> gave me an orgasm</p>

<p>Nice but can it run Vista?? It would suck to buy a 2K machine and because it has an integrated video card you can't upgrade to the new OS.</p>

<p>It's not Vista that you really have to worry about running, it's the Aero interface. If your computer isn't exactly top of the line, you can still run the Classic Windows interface (from Windows 95/98/2000)</p>

<p>Many of the new PCs/laptops indicate 'Vista Ready' meaning they have the required graphics, etc. to be able to take full advantage of Vista when t comes out. The Dell 1505 laptop I just purchased for my daughter indicates this. </p>

<p>I never saw much of a point in a tablet PC and they look fragile and traditionally have been more expensive than an equivalent counterpart. Are you saying your school requires a tablet laptop?</p>

<p>VT engineering indeed requires a tablet</p>

<p>the tablet req is total bs. i bet that we'll use it once or twice in the ENGE courses the whole year then it will collect dust. my handwriting is so bad that the damned thing doesnt even recognize my handwriting. it's a stupid requirement that can be handled with a regular laptop with an input slate device or none at all.</p>