Engineering Laptop

Hey guys,
I was wondering if there were any more laptops coming out for the approved list. If not which is the better laptop to get out of the current two laptops that are approved. Also, if you click on the Dell laptop it gives you the option of buying the 5510 or the XPS, are they both approved, and which is better.

Thanks for any feedback

They don’t actually check what computer you have. Anything laptop will do, really.

@KievanRus are you a current student or a prospective one?

I’m a current student. All you need is a computer that is capable of running matlab and labview, which is most laptops. In fact, most other students here have a different laptop than those recommended.

@KievanRus what about all the demanding 3D modeling programs that will have to run, if not right now but in the future, like CAD,MAYA or any other demanding modeling software? I know that a good processor and GPU combo with a decent amount of RAM should work. I read that there is difference between workstation GPU driver’s and drivers for integrated/dedicated GPU’s and sometimes that can be an issue when trying to run demanding modeling/engineering programs.

Can you use Apple Computers? Mac-book Pro?

They don’t teach autocad anymore in Engr 111 and 112. All we use is labview and matlab. Besides, once you start to use cpu heavy programs when you reach your upper levels, you’re going to be using their high processing desktops, not your own laptop, it takes up too much memory for a personal computer. As for apple computers, I myself and a huge amount of people are using a Macbook Pro, it works great. I partitioned my drive to run windows, but most mac people didn’t.

@KievanRus , are you guys using Windows 7 professional or Windows 10?

Some people are running windows 7, others windows 8, others windows 10, others OS X Yosemite, El Capitan, etc. It does not matter. Just make sure you also have microsoft office.