Engineering scholarship questions

<p>Obviously not for me! I was chatting with another parent yesterday whose oldest is a HS junior. They did a college tour over spring break and I was asking about it. His little sis (good friend of D2’s) had already mentioned that he had gotten a 32 on his ACT and the mom mentioned he was looking to major in chemical engineering. Money is a consideration as it is a single parent household. </p>

<p>I asked her if she knew that the 32 ACT = full tuition scholarship at UA (she didn’t) and I remembered the automatic $2500 scholarship if they selected engineering as a major. Her eyes opened up!</p>

<p>What info should I tell her about engineering at UA? What are the parameters for that engineering scholarship? And at the risk of offending anyone, are there any other schools that have such generous automatic engineering scholarships? It’s her first going through the process & I have no knowledge of anything in the STEM area.</p>

<p>Thanks guys!</p>

<p>Rob,</p>

<p>Not the expert here, but others will step in that know more.</p>

<p>The Engineering Scholarship at UA is $2500/yr, renewable as long as a 3.0 GPA is maintained and the student remains on track to get an engineering degree.</p>

<p>The only other engineering scholarship we saw was one AU offered of $1000 the first year that the student may be eligible for yearly renewal if they maintained a 3.7 GPA and stayed on track for an engineering degree. This scholarship had to be applied for, so, it may not qualify as ‘automatic’.</p>

<p>^ and speaking as a parent of a son in Engineering on scholarship, much as he’s doing well and loves it, getting/keeping a 3.7 is not a given… 3.0 is much more realistic.</p>